Baahubali Wins Best Film - National Film Awards 2015
Ilayaraaja wins fifth national award while Big B is Best Actor and Kangana Ranaut wins Best Actress award | By Yentha
On Mar 28, 2016


Trivandrum/New Delhi: The 63rd National Awards for films were announced today by the Information and Broadcasting ministry.  S S Rajamouli's 'Baahubali' has won for Best Film, filmmaker Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Best Director ('Bajirao Mastani'), Amitabh Bachchan for Best Actor ('Piku') and Kangana Ranaut for Best Actress ('Tanu Weds Manu Returns'). Ramesh Sippy, chaired the 11-member jury for the selection of movies this year.

Bollywood gave some very interesting choices this year which included Deepika Padukone and Ranveer Singh-starrer 'Bajirao Mastani', Kangna Ranaut's 'Tanu Weds Manu 2', 'Piku' starring Amitabh Bachchan and Anushka Sharma's 'NH 10', Salman Khan's 'Bajrangi Bhaijaan' and Ayushmann Khurrana's 'Dum Laga Ke Haisha'.

Here is the complete list of 63rd National Awards:

  • Best Director- Sanjay Leela Bhansali for 'Bajirao Mastani'.
  • Best film -'Baahubali'
  • Best Actor Male - Amitabh Bachchan for 'Piku'
  • Best Actor Female - Kangana Ranaut for 'Tanu Weds Manu Returns'
  • Best Hindi Film - 'Dum Laga ke Haisha'
  • Best Background music - Ilayaraja for 'Tharai Thappattai'
  • Best Supporting Actor  -Samudrakani for 'Visaranai'
  • Best Supporting Actress - Tanvi Azmi for 'Bajirao Mastani'
  • Best Choreography - Remo D’Souza for 'Deewani Mastani'
  • Best Tamil Film - Visaranai . The film also bagged the awards in Best Editing and Best Supporting Actor (Samuthirakani) categories.
  • Best Sanskrit Film - Priyamanasam
  • Best Hindi Film - Dum Laga Ke Haisha
  • Best Background score - Ilayaraaja for Thara Thappattai. This is Ilayarajaa's fifth National Award.
  • Special Jury Award goes to Kalki Koechlin for playing a girl with cerebral palsy in 'Margarita With A Straw'
  • Best Song: "Kaathirunnu" by Jayachandran in Ennu Ninte Moideen (Malayalam)
  • Best Choreography Award - Remo D'Souza for Bajirao Mastani
  • Special Mention for Ritika Singh for her role in Irudhi Suttru
  • Best popular film - Bajrangi Bhaijaan starring Salman Khan



  • Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Director - Neeraj Ghaywan for Masaan
  • Best Film on Social Issues - Nirnayakam (Malayalam)
  • Best Telugu film - Kanche
  • Best Kannada film - Thithi
  • Best Malayalam film - Pathemaari starring Mamooty
  • Best Supporting Actress - Tanvi Azmi for Bajirao Mastani
  • Best Screenplay Writer (Original) - Juhi Chaturvedi (Piku) and Himanshu Sharma (Tanu Weds Manu Returns)
  • Best Screenplay – Dialogues to Juhi Chaturvedi (Piku) and Himanshu Sharma (Tanu Weds Manu Returns)

The National Awards for films, which were started as an annual incentive by the Government of India, for the making of artistic, competent and meaningful films have come a long way, to cover the entire national spectrum of Indian Cinema, to judge merit by the highest possible yardstick and to become the most coveted and prestigious awards in the country.

Report Abuse    Report Error    Comments SMS/E-Mail
Bookmark and Share
News Features Columns