Kerala Sahitya Akademi Awards Announced
KR Meera and Binyamin win best short story and novel awards | By Yentha
On May 12, 2010

The Kerala Sahitya  Akademi  Awards for 2009 were announced on Tuesday by Academy President P Valsala. The awards were finalised in the executive meeting of the Sahitya  Akademi.  Vishnu Narayanan Namboothiri and Punathil Kunjabdulla  have been granted the fellowships of the Sahitya Akademi  for 2009.

“Ave Mariya" by KR Meera and “Adu Jeevatham" by Binyamin have won the awards for the best short story and novel respectively. Raveendran bagged the award for the best travelogue; K Satchidanandan for translation. The other award winners are A Vijayan (children's literature), NK Desam (poetry), KS Ravikumar (literary criticism), KM Ragahvan Nambiar (drama) and Marshal (humor).

Eminent journalist and writer TJS George has been selected for his biographical work “Ghoshayatra”.  “Janam”, a collection of short stories by PV Shaji Kumar, was selected for this year's Geetha Hiranyan Award.

The IC Chacko award has been given to Joseph Scaria. The other winners are K M Narendran (CB Kumar Award),E Chandrasekharan Nair(KR Namboothiri Award),MB Manoj (Kanakasree Award), Madhu Vasudevan (GN Pillai Award).

Ettumanur Somadasan, Erumeli Paramaeswaran Pillai, G Balakrishnan Nair and PVK Panayal have been honoured for their overall contribution to literature.

The awards will be presented at the annual function of the academy to be held later this month.

Report Abuse    Report Error    Comments SMS/E-Mail
Bookmark and Share
News Features Columns