National Games: Kerala Gets 25 New Sports Facilities
Trivandrum gets biggest sports stadium in Kerala; almost 10,00,000 square feet of usable area | by Yentha
On Oct 31, 2014

Trivandrum: Trivandrum would easily be the biggest gainer all thanks to the 35th National Games to be held in January next year. The Greenfield stadium, the biggest sports structure in Kerala, is expected to be the defining image of the new Trivandrum. It will also be one of the largest public buildings in the state with nearly one million square feet of usable area.

Kerala will be endowed by new stadia and facilities as part of the National Games. There are some absolutely new ones and many others are being considerably renovated to host the grand event. About 25 projects have been commissioned in the last two years and such massive work in a span of two years has never before been done in the sporting history of Kerala.

The PRO of the organizing committee, Vinod, while speaking to Yentha said, “Trivandrum will have three floodlit stadia. Till now, the sports activities happened during day time and in future we can organise day and night events. This will surely turn evenings into a carnival.”

He added, “These facilities will facilitate a shift in the sports culture of the state. The biggest challenge would be to maintain these facilities after the games. A legacy plan will be formulated by a committee headed by Dr. Shashi Tharoor. This is expected before the games begin.”

The Greenfield Stadium’s work was started in December 2012 and is expected to be over by this November. Other gargantuan structures that have come up include the Mundayad Indoor Stadium in Kannur which is the biggest in the state and the first ever synthetic athletic track in Malabar along with a new football ground at the Kozhikode Medical College.

Many are first timers in the history of the state. Some of them include the international squash court in Trivandrum, the modern Shooting Range at Trivandrum, the Trap & Skeet Range at Thrissur, the Lawn Bowling facility at Nedumbassery, the Artificial Football Turf at Thrissur and the Astro Turf hockey stadium at Kollam.

Several existing stadiums in the state are also being renovated. Trivandrum’s twin stadia the University stadium and the Chandrashekharan Nair stadium are being renovated. University stadium has already been floodlit. Chandrashekharan Nair stadium will also get floodlights along with a new eight-lane synthetic track. This will be ready by November 2014.

The Jimmy George stadium has already been transformed with new lighting, modern seating and air conditioning. The Rajiv Gandhi Stadium at Kadavanthara, Kochi has got new lighting systems, new roof and better acoustics. The Velodrome at Kariavattom is getting re-laid and is turning out to be practically new. The Thriprayar Indoor stadium in Thrissur with its new flooring is a beauty in a rural setting. The Indoor stadia at Kozhikode, Thrissur, Shangumughom and Vellayani have been thoroughly modernised with new flooring and lighting systems, besides substantial improvements.

This month will also witness the completion of the new western galleries at Corporation stadia at Thrissur and Kozhikode. The home ground of several tennis talents of Kerala, Trivandrum Tennis club, is getting a multi-crore synthetic court facility. The Trivandrum waterworks pool has been enlarged and reconstructed, and will be ready for public use by November.

Well who can now complain that there aren’t any sporting arenas in the state? Perhaps Dr. Tharoor’s plan for the future will decide the fate of generations of sportsmen and women from this part of the world.
<< Previous    
Report Abuse    Report Error    Comments SMS/E-Mail
Bookmark and Share
News Features Columns